Merging codes can be used to depreciate old or unused codes. The deprecated code will no longer exist and all data associated with the deprecated code will now be associated with the code it was merged with.
- Select the record you would like to delete.
- Press Ctrl+Delete or the Delete button on the grid toolbar. A Merge Code dialog box opens.
- Select the code that will replace the code you are deleting, and click Merge. A Confirm Merge dialog box opens.
- Click Yes.
- When merging codes in JustWare, Business Rules, Reports, and Data Partitioning are not automatically updated. When merging codes you are required to update those areas that may have used that code in order for them to function properly.
- Some places in JustWare allow you to edit a code table and simultaneously edit the \children" of that code table underneath. In such places (such as working with Name Attributes, Case Attributes, Charge Attributes, Statute Attributes, and Agencies) the Delete/Merge button is disabled. To delete/merge these codes, navigate to the code table itself (Code Tables from the General Configuration group of the Admin landing page) and delete/merge the code from that screen. This will automatically merge the children of the deleted code.
- You cannot delete codes from code tables. Codes can only be merged with other codes. If you try to delete a code, a merge dialog box will appear.
- Caution: The "und" Code is used for "unknown documents" and is necessary for various processes in JustWare. This code should never be merged with another code.
- A code that has been used in the JustWare database can only be merged with another code that has the same MasterCode.
- A code that has not been used in the JustWare database may be merged with another code that has either the same Mastercode or a different MasterCode.
Deleting a Record¶
Although most JustWare system administration code tables do not allow codes to be deleted, requiring administrators to merge with another code, there are several code tables and tools that do allow records to be deleted.
Caution: The "und" Code is used for "unknown documents" and is necessary for various processes in JustWare. This code should never be deleted. :::
Select the record you would like to delete, and press Ctrl+Delete or the Delete button on the grid toolbar.
A dialog box appears to confirm the deletion. Click Yes. The record is deleted.
Save the session.